DS Virgin Racing Team

After being an outside contender for the title in seasons one and two, Sam Bird remains on board for season three and is joined by Jose Maria Lopez, fresh from sealing yet another World Touring Car Championship title for Citroen.

For season two, DS Virgin was one of two teams to employ a twin-motor solution, which proved to be fast, but heavy and hard to handle, so for this season it has joined the ranks of the single motor teams.

Although its relatively new brand, DS has been represented in the WRC, while Virgin has been involved in motorsport previously through sponsorship of the championship-winning Brawn F1 team and its eponymous team, which ran for two seasons in 2010 and 2011.

Following a tie-in with French luxury car manufacturer DS, Virgin Racing became DS Virgin in season two.


2016/2017 FIA Formula E Championship. Round 11 – Montreal ePrix, Canada
Jose Maria Lopez (ARG), DS Virgin Racing, Spark-Citroen, Virgin DSV-02, and Sam Bird (GBR), DS Virgin Racing, Spark-Citroen, Virgin DSV-02, celebrate.
Photo: Malcolm Griffiths/LAT/Formula E

Wins: 5

Podiums: 12
Race Starts: 31

Poles: 6

Points: 430

Front Rows: 10

Fastest Laps: 5

Raced Laps: 2054

Raced Km: 4802

Led Races: 11

Led Laps:161

Led Km: 351

Leave a Reply